Franklin Lakes School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
New student registration continues for the 2021-22 school year.  To begin, select "New Student Registration" under Parent Tab on the District Website's homepage.
| Login Contact Us

Curriculum Content Areas

Please utilize the sidebar to the right to access curriculum content areas  --> 


2021-22 Curriculum: Mandates, Standards, & Initiatives Frequently Asked Questions (Sept. 2021)

Answers to many frequently asked questions can be found here.


Standards for Curriculum Development

New Jersey’s academic standards guide the development, implementation, and evaluation of curriculum.  In June 2020, the New Jersey State Board of Education adopted the New Jersey Student Learning Standards 2020.  These changes to standards guide curriculum development for all NJ public schools for the following areas: 



The 2016 NJSLS guide curriculum development in NJ public schools in:


Franklin Lakes Public Schools seek to assure the curriculum is designed to yield alignment between what is written, taught, and assessed.  For more information on each curricular area in Franklin Lakes, please visit the specific content area page under Curriculum Content Areas.


Below are also requirements as per New Jersey Legislative Statutes and Administrative Code Curriculum Development:

  • Integration of 21st Century Skills and Themes and Interdisciplinary Connections District boards of education shall be responsible for the review and continuous improvement of curriculum and instruction based upon changes in knowledge, technology, assessment results, and modifications to the NJSLS, according to N.J.A.C. 6A:8-2.
  • Amistad Law: N.J.S.A. 18A 52:16A-88 Every board of education shall incorporate the information regarding the contributions of African-Americans to our country in an appropriate place in the curriculum of elementary and secondary school students.
  • Holocaust Law: N.J.S.A. 18A:35-28 Every board of education shall include instruction on the Holocaust and genocides in an appropriate place in the curriculum of all elementary and secondary school pupils. The instruction shall further emphasize the personal responsibility that each citizen bears to fight racism and hatred whenever and wherever it happens.
  • LGBT and Disabilities Law: N.J.S.A. 18A:35-4.35 A board of education shall include instruction on the political, economic, and social contributions of persons with disabilities and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people, in an appropriate place in the curriculum of middle school and high school students as part of the district’s implementation of the New Jersey Student Learning Standards (N.J.S.A.18A:35-4.36) A board of education shall have policies and procedures in place pertaining to the selection of instructional materials to implement the requirements of N.J.S.A. 18A:35-4.35.
  • Diversity and Inclusion Law: N.J.S.A.18A:35-4.36a Curriculum to include instruction on diversity and inclusion. 1. a. Beginning in the 2021-2022 school year, each school district shall incorporate instruction on diversity and inclusion in an appropriate place in the curriculum of students in grades kindergarten through 12 as part of the district’s implementation of the New Jersey Student Learning Standards. b. The instruction shall: (1) highlight and promote diversity, including economic diversity, equity, inclusion, tolerance, and belonging in connection with gender and sexual orientation, race and ethnicity, disabilities, and religious tolerance; (2) examine the impact that unconscious bias and economic disparities have at both an individual level and on society as a whole; and (3) encourage safe, welcoming, and inclusive environments for all students regardless of race or ethnicity, sexual and gender identities, mental and physical disabilities, and religious beliefs.
  • See many other NJ Statutes & Regulations that pertain to curriculum and curriculum development.
Last Updated: August 2021


Elementary Grade Reporting: Clear, Detailed, and Consistent Expectations

Clearly articulated expectations exist for every main grade and supportive indicator. 

  • Level 3 represents the grade-level expectations. 
  • Level 4 is for exceptional cases, in which students consistently exceed grade-level expectations for the marking period. 
  • Students may move from a 4 to a 3 as the expectations change from one marking period to another.  This is not a drop in one's achievement.
Grade 1
Grade 2
Grade 3
Grade 4
Grade 5